What is the difference between Title 20 and Title 24?

Title 20 and Title 24 are efficiency standards developed by the California Energy Commission (CEC). Title 20 pertains to appliances and Title 24 covers energy efficiency in buildings. Both standard sets include requirements for lamps and luminaires (fixtures). For a product to be sold in California, it must comply with the Title 20 standard. If the product will be used in a new construction, it must meet the Title 24 requirement as well.

Which lighting products are affected by the Title 20?

Two main product categories are impacted: State-Regulated LED Lamps (SLEDs) and State-Regulated Small Diameter Directional Lamps (SDDLs).

SLEDs are categorized as:

  • Having an E12, E17, E26, or GU-24 base
  • Producing between 200 and 2,600 lumens (products with candelabra bases produce 150+ lumens)
  • Having a CCT between 2200K and 7000K and Duv between -0.012 and 0.012
  • Retrofit kits with E12, E17, E26, or GU24 bases

SDDLs are categorized as:

  • Operating at 12V, 24V, or 120V
  • Having an E26 base or being pin-based and compliant with ANSI ANSLG C81.61-2009 (R2014)
  • Having a diameter of less than 2.25"
  • Producing less than 850 lumens with a wattage equivalency of less than a 75w incandescent lamp

How can a SLED or SDDL be sold in California under Title 20?

Lamps must meet design and performance standards, certified by the CEC and listed in California’s Modernized Appliance Efficiency Database System (MAEDBS) as Title 20 compliant.

What is the difference between Tier 1 and Tier 2 standards in Title 20?

Requirements for LED lamps were introduced in two phases: Tier 1 was rolled out on January 1, 2019, and covered efficiency and performance requirements. Tier 2’s effective date was July 1, 2019, and included higher general standards as well as added standards for SDDLs.

What is JA8?

JA8 is Joint Appendix 8 in Title 24. This appendix specifies the requirements a light source such as an LED lamp or array needs to meet to be used in residential buildings.

Which products are required to be JA8-certified for residential applications in California?

High-efficacy light sources should comply with one of the two groups below.

Light sources in this group need to be certified as JA8-compliant in order to meet the Title 24 requirements:

  • LED luminaires with integral sources
  • Screw-based LED lamps
  • Pin-based LED lamps
  • GU-24 based LED light source
  • Recessed Ceiling Lights: Recessed downlights cannot be screw-based and must use an insulation contact & airtight-rated (ICAT) can

With the exception of recessed downlight luminaires, light sources in this group are automatically classified as high-efficacy and are not required to comply with JA8:

  • Pin-based linear fluorescent
  • Pin-based compact fluorescent
  • GU-24 other than LEDs
  • Inseparable SSL luminaires with colored light sources for decorative lighting
  • Pulse-start metal halide
  • High-pressure sodium
  • Luminaires with a hardwired high-frequency generator and induction lamps
  • Inseparable SSL luminaires that are installed outdoors

What is the difference between residential and non-residential categories under Title 24?

Title 24 includes requirements for both residential and nonresidential buildings. Residential buildings are single-family homes and low-rise residential buildings with three or fewer stories. Nonresidential buildings include hotels, motels, and high-rise apartments (over three stories in height).

How can compliance be achieved for nonresidential/commercial applications?

Nonresidential compliance can be achieved by combining control strategies for different space types (warehouses, classrooms, parking lots, etc.). Generally, as long as a lighting product meets or is outside the scope of Title 20 and can be continuously dimmed, it can be used in a nonresidential application.


California: Title 24, JA8, Title 20 - GREEN CREATIVE

California Title 20 & Title 24 Lamp Guide

Select up to 4 items to compare.
Select up to 4 items to compare.